California Missions, Part 7
Mission Soledad was built in 1791 in what is now the Salinas Valley. After destructive flooding and an epidemic, there wasn’t much left of the buildings until restoration efforts began in the 1950s.
The window over the door at San Carlos is unique among the 21 missions. This is also the site of Father Junipero Serra’s grave, which can be seen in the sanctuary.
When visiting the Mission, pay special attention to the church floor tiles. There are animal prints in the tiles that were made while the tiles were left outside to dry in the sun. Also, note the “Cat Door” carved into the blue side door in the Guadalupe Chapel. This allowed cats access at all times to catch mice. In the 1800’s mice were serious pests eating much of the harvest.
San Juan Bautista has the only original Spanish Plaza remaining in California